Happy boob year

March 22, 2010 § 3 Comments

It’s not cancer!

Not that I knew it was cancer, but it was a possibility that I hoped wasn’t true. I feel weird coming out with this on my blog. But yes, I thought I had breast cancer.

Last week I discovered a lump in my left boob. I had to go back to the doctor anyways for other reasons, so today was the perfect day to get my first breast exam [killing two birds with one stone]. I felt really weird during, but I forced myself not to feel awkward since it was for the good of my health.

What’s weird is that my family is really proud of me. I guess it’s because the doctor actually said to me, “Wow! You get an A+ on breast self exams. Most women never find a lump where you did because it’s in a difficult spot to feel.” She also mentioned how she might use me in one of her lectures (to other doctors) anonymously. She was really excited about that, and that I also said “areola” because most girls my age wouldn’t have. Lesson learned today: FEEL UP YOUR GODDAMN BOOBIES.

By now I hope you’re wondering why there are so many pictures of naked chicks on here? Well, for one I am obsessed with nudes. And two, this week I am planning on posting all things about women. I guess subconsciously this idea is coming from the book Reviving Ophelia: Saving the Selves of Adolescent Girls by Mary Pipher that I’ve been reading. However, lately I’ve just been thinking about how much energy goes into being female.

This last photograph is seriously the coolest picture I’ve seen in a really long time. I really wish I took it. My friend took pictures of me in a set up like this, except I wasn’t naked. You can see one of those pictures from that shoot in the ‘about’ section of this blog.

Not sure how the next post will be like. I’ll somehow perfect this idea I have. xoxo.

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to Happy boob year

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy boob year at Singing Visions.

meta

