April 11, 2010 § Leave a comment

Guess what? I am so past high school. I really don’t know how I am going to go on Monday. There are so many fucking greater and better things out there, like trying to figure out how the hell I got from Ukiah all the way to Vallejo without remembering a thing. I was a sleep, but you could call me dead. I KNOW WHAT IT FEELS LIKE TO BE DEAD. Time just doesn’t exist and your body is doing whatever. That’s what happens, I swear. I figured this out in the car last night. What’s weird to think about is, that I anything could have happened to my body when I was sleep. I never could have woken up ever again.. That trips me out. holy shit. Anyways…

Got home in the middle of the night last night. My dad and I had a LONG ass day, here it goes:

I woke up at 3am! We left at 5am sharp. We drove and drove through the dark. The sun rose just before we reached the line for Humboldt County at 8:30am.

The drive up highway 101 is GORGEOUS. Sometimes it would go through the redwoods, or most of the time the redwoods would be around us. The gigantic Eel River snakes through also. The river is a teal looking color, which is so pretty.

Our first and only rest stop on the way there:

On the way up we saw one hitch hiker, and it only got weirder from there! People ride their bikes on the highway, which is the freeway. I wish I took a picture of that. We saw more than a couple.

We got to Humboldt State University at about 9:30am. I thought the campus was amazing. It backs up to the community redwood forest. I was disappointed for some reason. It was on a pretty steep hill which reminds me of Berkeley. The city of Arcata disappointed me, whereas the cities around Monterey Bay State were beautiful and welcoming… Oh, and familiar to me. What I also didn’t like were the beaches in Arcata. Horrible riptides make the beaches terrible for surfing…not what I want for the next four years of my life.

The weather while we were at the campus was a little better than it’s norm. Cloudy with random gusts of wind. I was enjoying the coolness since I’m always warm. But when we visited the beach, it was a little too much to handle. So, being as disappointed as I was, I was scared the trip was pointless. However, we started to drive home, and on the way we found Confusion Hill.

If you’ve ever been to the Mystery Spot in Santa Cruz, California… It’s the same exact thing.

this took my breath away

So after Confusion Hill, I thought it would be a straight shot home. NOPE! In Ukiah, which is about halfway home, we spotted a quarter-mile race track similar to that of Altamont Raceway in Livermore. My dad asked, “you wanna go?” I said SURE! But he kept driving saying nah, it’s probably hard to find. I kept saying it’s cool, and he finally swerved off the highway.

The races started at 6:30pm and lasted until about 10:30. It was freezing the entire time, but I was thoroughly entertained.

We drove home through the dark and arrived home at 1am. It ended up being a good day after all. But I really miss the Humboldt area, and how weird the North is. They are totally my type of people, but the area just doesn’t do it for me 😦

So I’ll be making myself an official student of California State University of Monterey Bay later in the afternoon.. which is totally exciting because this week I’ve been exploring the Military, the Monterey bay, all the way up to basically the Oregon Border. I am SOOO happy to finally know what I want to do for the next four years! ahhhh!

xoxo,

deep down, always a hippie

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at Singing Visions.

meta

