this made my mommy cry

June 6, 2010 § 3 Comments

Positivity Is a Choice

I’m 17 and crazy. Not the type of crazy one may think is mentally unstable, because I am completely sane. Most people think I am out of my mind. I am in my mind, in fact in my opinion, I am way too introspective. However, it is their choice to pin-point me as crazy. All I care about are my choices of how I live a fulfilling life. I choose to be happy. I choose to live life to the fullest. I choose to learn from my mistakes and move on. I choose to spread joy by making someone’s day. That is because we only have so many chances to live another. I am happy and not afraid to show it.

Every day I wake up in the morning and say to myself: “This is going to be a good day. You know why, Desi? You are alive.”

I walk through the hallways of school as I listen to students complaining about the scorching weather or heavy homework load. I give them my best advice and breathe out my own problems through breathing exercises with incantations. This is the way I was brought up: to replace complaints with a smile and to give more than receive. I couldn’t image my life any other way.

My passion for staying positive through tough times was inspired from what my mother used to tell me when I was younger: “Are you going to choose to be happy or miserable in this life?”

I told my mom in fifth grade that I would choose to be happy, and it’s made me into the person that I am today. Although the magic of my mother’s words didn’t sink in until the past year, I feel as if I have been living by my philosophy my entire life.

My philosophies on how I live life are inspired by a variety of role models who have made a change in the world. My thoughts are inspired by my mother, His Holiness the 14thDalai Lama of Tibet, Mahatma Ghandi, Morrie Schwartz, and Martin Luther King Jr. I plan on following in their footsteps to change this world into a kinder place to live. Positivity changes lives. This, I believe.

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to this made my mommy cry

  • This is a really Buddhist way of thinking. I try to live with this outlook, too. I struggle. It’s good to hear it works for someone else 🙂

  • Desiree says:

    it has taken a lot of practice! but you’ll get it. I sometimes forget, I just have to remind myself again. 🙂 good luck

    • missgypsy says:

      We are living breathing creatures, but we are also human which I sometimes think makes us act less instinctive and like nature intended than any other species. However we have been givin the gift of wisdom, and with that we all have a choice to be happy or not. My life has shit on me from the moment I was born, but everyone I meet says what a genuinly nice person I am (if not a little bonkers) I changed MY world and hopefully my destiny was to be there for other lonely people, be the friend of the under-dog if you like. Changing the world, is one person at a time 🙂

      Sounds like you are on the right track to becoming one of these people who has insight and intuition, especailly that you realize as a human you will falter!

      Your Blog is awesome, once again!!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading this made my mommy cry at Singing Visions.

meta

